Joyce Kimeli win SEC Steeplechase Championship

OXFORD, Miss.—Senior Joyce Kimelli, a two-time SEC indoor champion, won her first outdoor conference title, claiming the women’s 3000m Steeplechase Friday night in a facility record time of 9:49.13. She became just the 11th female in Auburn track and field history to win three or more SEC individual titles and first in over a decade to accomplish the feat.

Kimeli, who led wire-to-wire, ran with a pack of six runners before breaking away with Kentucky’s Perri Bockrath with 1000 meters remaining. The Eldoret, Kenya native outdistanced the UK junior over the final 300 meters to win by three seconds.

Kimeli’s victory was the third for the Tiger women in the first two days of the championships. On day one, senior Maddie Malone won the hammer throw and senior Ashley Carter claimed the javelin throw. Auburn’s three SEC titles are the most in one conference outdoor meet since 2010 when the women won four individual crowns and one relay.

For the second consecutive day, inclement weather delayed action on the track. Friday was held up by a five hour and 15-minute delay as storms rolled through Oxford all afternoon. The meet summarized at 7 pm and concluded with the decathlon’s 1500m at 12:45 am

Sophomore Janaya Jones had a career-best performance in the women’s long jump, with a leap of 6.41m/21-0.5 to finish sixth in the event. The Philadelphia, Pennsylvania native’s effort made her the seventh best performer in Auburn history and was the best performance by an Auburn woman at SEC Outdoors since Jovannee Jarrett jumped 6.51m to finish second in 2006.

With eight of 21 events completed, the Auburn women are in first place in the team standings with 26 points. The Tiger men are in ninth place with 11 points.

On the men’s side, sophomore John Murray and junior David Edmondson had career-best marks to finish sixth and seventh, respectively, in the men’s decathlon. Murray scored 7073 points, while Edmondson had 6891 points.

Senior dante brown ran at 10.28 in the men’s 100m dash, which was the second fastest qualifying time. He will run in Saturday’s finals at 6:35 pm The 2019 SEC Indoor 60m champion, Brown is the Tigers’ first finalist in the event since Anthony Schwartz three years ago.

Sophomore Ryan Kinnan qualified for the finals of the men’s 1500m after running at 3:45.86 to earn the 12th and final spot. The Andover, Kansas native is the first Tiger to advance to the SEC finals of the 1500m since Wesley Curles in 2017. Senior Tommy McDonough ran a strong race and crossed in 3:46.50 for 14th place.

Saturday’s final day of competition will begin at 12:30 pm CT with the women’s discus throw. The meet will air live on the SEC Network beginning at 5 pm


Friday, May 13

Men’s Decathlon

6. John Murray 7073 (PR)
110m Hurdles 15.66
Discus Throw 41.84m/137-3 (PR)
Pole Vault 4.15m/13-7.25
Javelin Throw 52.23m/171-4
1500m 5:27.58

7. David Edmondson 6891 (PR)
110m Hurdles 15.28
Discus Throw 31.63m/103-9
Pole Vault 3.75m/12-3.5(PR)
Javelin Throw 43.58m/142-11
1500m 4:59.51

Men’s 110m Hurdles Prelims

12. Tray Reynolds 14.37 (PR)

Women’s 1500m Prelims

26. Hallie Porterfield 4:35.57

Men’s 1500m Prelims

12. Ryan Kinnan (Q)3:45.86
14. Tommy McDonough 3:46.50
24. Cooper Atkins 3:52.84

Women’s 100m Prelims

17. Aalliyah Francis 11.86

Men’s 100m Prelims

two. dante brown (Q) 10.28
12. Christopher Grant 10.45
19. Brandon Smiley 10.66
23. Jason Reese 10.78

Women’s 3000m Steeplechase

one. Joyce Kimelli 9:49.13 (FR)

Women’s Shot Put

eleven. Maura Hwalt 15.53m/50-11.5

Women’s Long Jump

6. Janaya Jones 6.41m/21-0.5 (PR)
9. Essence Thomas 6.00m/19-8.25
17. Imani Jones 5.43m/17-9.75

Men’s Shot Put

14. Quinten Wynn 16.87m/55-4.25
16. Ethan Richter 16.70m/54-9.5
18. alex spyridonidis 13.92m/45-8

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button