Mifflin County school board announces Potutschnig’s resignation | News, Sports, Jobs

LEWISTOWN — Mifflin County Academy of Science and Technology’s administrative director has unofficially announced his resignation.

Mifflin County School District Director John Knepp stated during the voting meeting Thursday that Daniel Potutschnig will be taking a position as superintendent of Millersburg Area School District.

“It’s been great working with Dan for the past 10 years. I think he did a wonderful job of turning that place into what it is. He’ll be missed. I wish him good luck,” said Knepp.

Potutschnig was approved as superintendent at Millersburg on Tuesday. Knepp said his last day with the Academy is June 30. He will take on his new role on July 1.

Mifflin County School District Superintendent Vance Varner said he expects to receive Potutschnig’s official resignation letter today and hopes to begin advertising for the position next week.

“He’s going to be a great asset to Millersburg, for sure,” Varner said.

In unrelated news, the board approved funding for the boys’ and girls’ lacrosse teams, effective July 1. The teams, which currently play a varsity schedule, have been self-funded (club status) since their inception.

The board also approved the resignation of Beth Laughlin as a member of the Mifflin County Board of School Directors.

“I would like to thank Mrs. Laughlin for her contributions to the board. I think everybody knows we didn’t agree on a lot of things, but she certainly always agreed on what to do that would be best for students,” said Mary Lou Sigler, board member.

The school district is currently advertising to fill the board vacancy. The deadline for applications is 4 pm May 4. The applicants will then receive a list of interview questions. Applicants will be asked to attend the May 19 school board meeting and a new board member is expected to be sworn in on May 26.

An alternate member will also be selected to serve on the operating committee for the Academy of Science and Technology.

A special board meeting will be held at 6:30 pm May 10 to approve the tentative budget. A special voting meeting to hire personnel that same night.

The board also took the following action:

Exonerated tax collector Rebecca Ganoe from collecting real estate tax on a parcel;

Approved an offer on repository of $1,000;

Approved printing services for tax collection;

Approved the 2022-23 employee pay schedule;

Approved the following drivers for Fisher Bros.: Bonnie Sullivan and Melinda Stuck;

Approved Lena Hahnke, of Germany as a foreign exchange student for the 2022-23 school year at Mifflin County High School, sponsored by the Youth Exchange for Understanding, Intercultural Exchange Programs;

Approved Alison Lutz to be paid $1,654.64 for speech/language services provided to the district between October 2021 and February 2022 during her plan and lunch;

Approved Gina Moore and Erica Belle as event staff for the remainder of the 2021-22 school year;

Approved the following coaches for the 2021-22 school year: Jeremy Herwig, volunteer girls soccer coach; Adrienna Witters, volunteer assistant cheerleader; Cassie Swenson, volunteer assistant cheerleader; Jessica Renninger, JH cheerleading; Sidney Barlett, JH cheerleading volunteer assistant; Jessica Miller, volunteer assistant cross country; Catrina Breneman, volunteer assistant cross country; Lauren Kuykendall, cross-country volunteer assistant; Anthony Schifano, volunteer assistant cross country; Dylan Kurtz, volunteer assistant cross country; Milton Herrold, volunteer assistant country club; Kristin Kauffman, volunteer assistant cross country; Anne Harshbarger, assistant field hockey coach; Stephanie Hoffman, volunteer assistant field hockey; Douglas Sipe, assistant golf; Tre Fleck, volunteer golf; Carolyn Kline, assistant girls soccer; Emma Hepler, volunteer assistant girls soccer; Brett Leister, volunteer assistant girls soccer; Justin Mayo, volunteer assistant boys soccer; Alex Leight, volunteer assistant boys soccer; Jack Xanthopoulos, volunteer assistant boys soccer; Jeffrey Mazurek, assistant girls tennis; Stephen Hugendubler, volunteer girls tennis; Jenna Slepicka, head volleyball; Aimee Seitz, assistant volleyball; Deion Curry, cross-country volunteer;

-Approved the Local Economic Revitalization Tax Assistance Act resolution regarding real estate property in Lewistown Borough;

Approved administration compensation plans, effective July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2025;

-Approved the transfer of Natisha Maclay, athletic director, from a 220-day employee to a 260-day employee, effective July 2, 2022, at a salary of $90,335;

-Approved Vance Varner, superintendent to carry over unused vacation days from school year 2021-22 to be used prior to Dec. 31, 2022;

-Approved Clint Aurand as principal at Lewistown Intermediate School and Derry Elementary School, effective July 1, no salary change;

-Approved Victoria Mattey to be the assistant principal at Lewistown Intermediate School and East Derry Elementary School, effective July 1, 2022, no salary change;

-Approved Tonya Kepner to be assistant principal at Indian Valley Elementary Center, effective July 1, 2022, no salary change;

-Approved Deion Curry as a volunteer track and field coach for the remainder of the 2021-22 school year;

-Added MCSD retired principal/assistant principal substitute to the MCSD substitute pay rates starting school year 2022-23 at a rate of $225 per day;

-Approved the guest teacher list;

-Approved a memorandum of understanding for the 2022-23 school year between the Tuscarora Intermediate Unit 11 partial hospitalization program and the Mifflin County School District;

-Approved the job description for the supervisor of special education, effective July 1.

Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button