Scholarship recipients –

• DUBLIN — Funded by the State of Ohio through the Department of Higher Education and operated as a program of The Ohio Academy of Science, Believe in Ohio is a Student STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) Innovation and Entrepreneurship Scholarship Program that strives to prepare Ohio’s future workforce for a changing labor market and the innovation economy. The program emphasizes the importance of applying STEM and innovation to solve problems, and how to create solutions by developing marketplace opportunities through research and technological design. Recently, 124 juniors and seniors from 90 high schools throughout Ohio, including Eleanor Smith, of the National Inventors Hall of Fame STEM High School in Akron, were recognized for their contributions and earned a $1,000 Believe in Ohio STEM Innovation and Entrepreneurship Scholarship. Applications for the scholarship process were evaluated based on academic achievement, answers to essay questions and proof of validated accomplishments in STEM Innovation and entrepreneurship.
• GREATER AKRON — Walsh Jesuit High School graduate David Fall and Highland High School graduate Jackson Shaw have been named National Merit Scholarship winners. Fall, who plans to peruse Aerospace Engineering, was awarded the National Merit Purdue University Scholarship. Shaw, whose likely career field is Biomedical Engineering, earned the National Merit University of Central Florida Scholarship. Fall and Shaw are among 2,600 winners of National Merit Scholarships, financed by colleges and universities across the nation. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship, according to National Merit Scholarship Corporation officials.
• GREATER AKRON — The Cleveland Punch and Die Co.’s Eugene and Arlene True Memorial Scholarship, established at the Akron Community Foundation to award annual scholarships to company employees, their spouses, children and grandchildren, was awarded this year to Charles Baker, of Copley, a mechanical engineering technology major at The University of Akron. This fund honors the memory of Eugene and Arlene True, who owned controlling interest in Cleveland Punch and Die.
• GRANGER — The Cleveland Clinic Medina Hospital, the hospital medical staff and the Medina Hospital Foundation are awarding $42,000 in annual scholarships this year. Scholarships and recipients going to Highland High School graduates include:
√ Medina Hospital Medical Staff Scholarships of $2,500 from the Cleveland Clinic Medina Hospital medical staff to students pursuing a career in the medical field: Blaine Coyner and Taylor Csanyi, both studying biomedical engineering at The Ohio State University (OSU); and Delaney Lawson, also attending OSU;
√ Medina Hospital Foundation Community Scholarships of $1,000 to graduates who plan to pursue a degree in nursing or an allied health curriculum: Csanyi and Ava Latham, who is studying nursing at Kent State University;
√ Bill and Ruth Kelly Scholarships of $1,000 to students who plan to pursue a degree in nursing or an allied health curriculum: Makayla Grecenuk, who is studying nursing at OSU, and Elissa Scheel, who is studying occupational therapy at Gannon University; and
√ the Jean Myers Scholarship of $1,000 for Medina Hospital student volunteers and dependents of hospital caregivers: Coyner.
The hospital, the staff and the foundation have collectively given more than $740,000 in scholarships to Medina County students over the more than 75 year history of Medina Hospital, according to hospital officials.
• AKRON — Holy Trinity Lutheran Church has awarded the Ernie Liska Memorial Scholarship of $1,000 to Jovana Djuric. She graduated from Akron Early College in May with a GPA of 5 and was valedictorian of her class of 102 students. She also graduated from The University of Akron with an associate’s degree in arts. She was a member of the National Honor Society, where she served as treasurer and president of the fundraising committee. She also assisted teachers at a local elementary school. The scholarship was created in memory of Ernest Liska in 2019 to provide financial assistance to high school seniors who plan to earn a college or university degree or become certified in a vocational/building trade. Applicants must be a current high school senior in Akron Public Schools and living in Akron.

Please support Leader Publications as we continue to provide the community with local news.

Click the link below for more information on our 2020 Voluntary Subscription Drive!

Make a Voluntary Donation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button