Eichhorn begins NCAA Regional play on Monday

Media Supplement (PDF)

MILWAUKEE- Marquette University graduate student Hunter Eichhorn will compete in the Columbus Regional of the 2022 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships at Ohio State Golf Club on May 16-18.

Oklahoma State, Georgia Tech and Arkansas are the top three teams in the regional, which is also hosted in Columbus, Ohio.

Thirteen teams and 10 individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The top five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals.

Live scoring is available through Golfstat.

Hunter Eichhorn

Eichhorn, the top-seeded individual in the region, is making his fourth appearance in an NCAA regional.

A three-time BIG EAST Player of the Year, Eichhorn won the league’s automatic individual NCAA berth as a freshman in 2018, and earned co-medalist honors at last year’s BIG EAST Championship, while earning an at-large berth to the NCAA Kingston Springs Regional. The Carney, Michigan, native also competed with the MU team in the NCAA Austin Regional in 2019.

Eichhorn is the only MU golfer to compete in four NCAA regionals.

Completed in 1940, the Ohio State Golf Club is one of the first university golf facilities outside of the East Coast. The OSU Golf Club has two courses, the Scarlet and the Gray. The Scarlet course is known as one of the top collegiate courses in the nation, having played host to 10 men’s National Championships, four women’s National Championships, several US Open qualifiers and the 1977 USGA Junior Championship. In 2005, Ohio State alumnus Jack Nicklaus oversaw a major restoration project of the Scarlet course, lengthening the course to 7,400 yards and changing the par to 71.

2021 (Kingston Springs): T44 (+7, 76-74-70–220)
2019 (Austin): S18 (+3, 73-72-71–216)
2018 (Bryan): T25 (+3, 74-71-74–218)

2021 (Kingston Springs): Hunter EichhornT44 (+7, 76-74-70–220)
2018 (Bryan): Hunter EichhornT25 (+3, 74-71-74–218)
2018 (Bryan): Matt Murlick, T19 (+1, 74-72-72–217)
2009 (Central – Bowling Green): Mike Van Sickle, T20 (+5, 73-70-78–221)
2008 (Central – Sugar Grove): Mike Van Sickle, 17 (+9, 78-69-78–225)

If Eichhorn finishes as the top individual among players on non-advancing teams, he would earn a spot in the NCAA Championships. Team and individual medalist titles will be decided at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Arizona, from May 27-June 1, hosted by Arizona State and The Thunderbirds.

Keep up with the Marquette men’s golf program through social media by following on Twitter (@MarquetteMGolf) and Instagram (@MarquetteMGolf) and ‘liking’ on Facebook (/MarquetteMGolf).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button