Spartan Rowers Headed to B1G Championships in Indianapolis

EAST LANSING, Mich. – Michigan State rowing is bound for the 2022 Big Ten Championships this weekend in Indianapolis, Indiana. Racing begins at 9 am on Sunday, May 15 with the second novice eight boats, and will conclude with the varsity race followed by the awards ceremony at 12:30 pm

Indianapolis has been the host city of the Championships at Eagle Creek Park on the Eagle Creek Reservoir since 2011, with the exception of racing taking place in Baraboo, Wisconsin in 2019.

Last year, Michigan took home the title with 191 team points, while the Spartans placed eighth with a total of 30 points. Michigan State earned a sixth-place finish in the second varsity four race while the novice eight crew finished seventh. Two Spartans earned All-Big Ten selections with coxswain Sarah Flowney being named to the first team and maya elbaranes earning second-team All-B1G honours.

This year’s Championships will similarly be decided by an accumulation of points earned over the day’s seven races, using the following scoring system:

Race/Place one two 3 4 5 6 7 8
Varsity Eight 72 63 54 Four. Five 36 27 18 9
Second Varsity Eight 48 42 36 30 24 18 12 6
VarsityFour 24 twenty-one 18 fifteen 12 9 6 3
Second Varsity Four 16 14 12 10 8 6 4 two
Novice Eight 16 14 12 10 8 6 4 two
Second Novice Eight 8 7 6 5 4 3 two one
Third Varsity Four 8 7 6 5 4 3 two one

The Spartans own three Big Ten Rowing Championship titles, last earning the crown with back-to-back first-place showings in 2008 and 2009. MSU won four consecutive Varsity Eight gold medals during that time, from 2008-2011, the second-longest streak in championship history behind Ohio State. More recently, the Green & White placed within the top five with fourth-place finishes in 2011, 2012 and 2013. Michigan State took second place in 2010 when racing was held close to home in Lainsburg.

The winner of this year’s championships will receive an automatic berth to the NCAA Championship Regatta in Sarasota, Florida on May 27-29. Additional Big Ten crews can earn at-large bids into the NCAA Championships, which will be announced during a selection show aired on on Tuesday, May 17 at 5 pm

Regatta Schedule:

9:00 am II Novice Eights (2N8)
9:20 a.m. I Novice Eights (1N8)
9:40 a.m. III Fours (3V4)
10:00 a.m. II Fours (2V4)
10:20 a.m. I Fours (1V4)
10:40 a.m. II Eights (2V8)
11:00 am I Eights (1V8)
12:30 pm Awards Ceremony

Varsity Eight: C- Lizzie Johnson; S- maya elbaranes; 7 – Ella Mckenzie; 6 – Freya Engel; 5 – Danielle Carlson; 4 – Andrea Blanzy; 3 Eleni Agioti; two – sophia ring; B- Amelia James

Second Varsity Eight: C- ellise flesland; S- Lucy Botting; 7 – Victoria Mills; 6 – Colby Orcutt; 5 – claudia kingma; 4 – Avery Rugg; 3 Sabrina Gottschalk; two – Kendall Carlin; B- Molly Stothard

VarsityFour: C- sophia stauffer; S- Lucy Roy; 3 Breanna Berry; two – Julie Armstrong; B- Morgan Jenzen

Second Varsity Four: C- Grace Thomas; S- Lily Devereaus; 3 Carolyn Garner; two – Erica McIntee; B- Sarah Hilburger

Third Varsity Four: C- kendall gonya; S- Emily Petrsky; 3 Brooke Byas; two – Mackenzie Rugg; B- Kat Borders

Novice Eight: C- Chloe Senica; S- Olivia Tolkinen; 7 – jackie matthews; 6 – Olivia Portner; 5 – Brynne U’Selis; 4 – Addison Yeager; 3 Ella Harrell; two – Rachel Eberhard; B- Hannah Niederquell

Second Novice Eight: C- Samantha Thomas; S- Emily Carless; 7 – madi drabik; 6 – Alaina Rochert; 5 – Delaney Davis; 4 – Abby Marek; 3 Kasey Matusik; two – Kaylie Wright; B-Maddie Kragt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button